1.0.5 • Public • Published


    JavaScript EOBD Fault Codes Lookup Utility

    This module includes:

    • the full list of OBD-II fault codes
    • some manufacturer-specific codes for Audi, BMW, Citroën, Peugeot and Volkswagen


    npm install jseobd


    // include
    const myJSEOBD = require('./node_modules/jseobd/lib/main.js');
    // generic fault code
    const err1 = myJSEOBD.lookup('B00D0');
    console.log(err1.msg); // Driver Seatbelt Indicator (Subfault)
    console.log(err1.category); // Body
    // manufacturer fault code
    const err2 = myJSEOBD.lookup('P1299', 'peugeot');
    console.log(err2.msg); // Cylinder head overtemperature protection active
    console.log(err2.category); // Powertrain


    The EOBD (European on board diagnostics) regulations are the European equivalent of OBD-II, and apply to all passenger cars of category M1 (with no more than 8 passenger seats and a Gross Vehicle Weight rating of 2500 kg or less) first registered within EU member states since 1 January 2001 for petrol (gasoline) engined cars and since 1 January 2004 for diesel engined cars.

    For newly introduced models, the regulation dates applied a year earlier – 1 January 2000 for petrol and 1 January 2003 for diesel. For passenger cars with a Gross Vehicle Weight rating of greater than 2500 kg and for light commercial vehicles, the regulation dates applied from 1 January 2002 for petrol models, and 1 January 2007 for diesel models.

    The technical implementation of EOBD is essentially the same as OBD-II, with the same SAE J1962 diagnostic link connector and signal protocols being used.

    In 2017, all previous standards were revoked because there were more than 24 standards produced over 35 years. The new document supplanted all previous versions.

    EOBD fault codes

    Each of the EOBD fault codes consists of five characters: a letter, followed by four numbers. The letter refers to the system being interrogated e.g. Pxxxx would refer to the powertrain system. The next character would be a 0 if complies to the EOBD standard. So it should look like P0xxx.

    The first letter indicates the family of DTC.

    • P: Powertrain
    • C: Chassis
    • B: Body
    • U: User network

    The first digit indicates if the code is generic or not (green digit):

    • 0: Generic fault
    • 1: Manufacturer fault

    The next character would refer to the sub system.

    • P00xx – Fuel and air metering and auxiliary emission controls.
    • P01xx – Fuel and air metering.
    • P02xx – Fuel and air metering (injector circuit).
    • P03xx – Ignition system or misfire.
    • P04xx – Auxiliary emissions controls.
    • P05xx – Vehicle speed controls and idle control system.
    • P06xx – Computer output circuit.
    • P07xx – Transmission.
    • P08xx – Transmission.

    The following two characters would refer to the individual fault within each subsystem.


    npm i jseobd

    DownloadsWeekly Downloads






    Unpacked Size

    263 kB

    Total Files


    Last publish


    • statictoad